97 & 103 Main Street, South Paris, ME 04281 info@mclaughlingarden.org 207-743-8820

Garden Events and Programs

 

February 2020

Wednesday, February 19 (3:30 tea, 4:00 lecture)
Lecture Series: Trish Logan on photographing flowers. This is a hands on workshop. Please bring your fully charged cell phones or cameras

Wednesday, February 26 (3:30 tea, 4:00 lecture)
Lecture Series: Tom Carey on using rocks in a garden


March 2020

Wednesday, March 4 (3:30 tea, 4:00 lecture)
Lecture Series: Ben Crockett on shade gardening

Wednesday, March 11 (3:30 tea, 4:00 lecture)
Lecture Series: Mark Brandhorst on annuals

Wednesday, March 18 (3:30 tea, 4:00 lecture)
Lecture Series: Pam Delphenich on Beatrix Ferrand and Campus planning

Wednesday, March 25 (3:30 tea, 4:00 lecture)
Lecture Series: Rebecca Long on the University of ME’s Cooperative Extension and the home gardener

March 25-29 (Thurs.–Sun.)
Maine Flower Show in Portland


May 2020
Friday, May 8- McLaughlin Garden opens for the season
10:00 am to 4:00 pm- Members only plant sale
5:00pm to 7:00pm- Members only “Season Kick Off” party. (new for 2020)

May 9-10 (Fri.–Sun.)
10:00 am to 4:00 pm- Wildflower Celebration

Saturday, May 11

May 22-25 (Fri.–Mon. / Memorial Weekend)
McLaughlin Garden Lilac Festival

Friday May 22 @ 3:30pm- Chewonki presentation “Mammals of Maine”


June 2020

Thursday, June 12
Power Propagators 9:30am to 11:30pm

Thursday,  June 11- Thursday, June 25
Children’s Story Walk 

Thursday, June 18- Thursday Evening in the Garden (new for 2020)

Friday, June 21
Father’s Day Celebration (new for 2020)

Thursday, June 25- Thursday Evening in the Garden

Saturday, June 27– Annual Benefit Auction

 


July 2020
Thursday July 2- Thursday Evening in the Garden
 
Thursday, July 9
Power Propagators 9:30am to 11:30pm
Thursday Evening in the Garden

Thursday, July16- Thursday Evening in the Garden

Thursday, July 23- Thursday Evening in the Garden

Thursday, July 30- Thursday Evening in the Garden

Cancer Resource Center concert- 3:30pm


August 2020

                                                                                                                                                                                                        

Thursday, August 8
 
 
Saturday, August 21
Fairy and Gnome Dance Party 7pm-8:30pm
Saturday, August 22
Garden Illuminated 8pm-10pm                                                                                                                            
Sponsored by
 
 

 


October 2020
October 16-17 (Fri. – Sat.)
Jack-o’-lantern Spectacular- Spend the evening enjoying the spectacular amount of carved and lit pumpkins lining the paths through the garden. Admission is $5 and includes cider and popcorn and use of the decorated photo booth in the barn.

This event is sponsored by

November 2019

Wednesday, November 20 

Autumn Centerpiece workshop 1:00 pm to 3:00pm

Bring your own waterproof, container and we’ll provide the greens and natural materials for a beautiful autumn themed tabletop arrangement. The cost is $7 per arrangement and includes 1 bow of your choice. Additional centerpiece decorations will be available for a nominal fee. Space is limited so please call to make reservations for either 1:00pm or 2:00pm at 207-743-8820. Refreshments will be served–come for a relaxing and fun event before the cooking begins!

December 2019
Sunday, December 1
Wreath making workshop 1:00 pm to 3:00pm  SORRY. THIS WORKSHOP IS FULL

The cost for this workshop is $15 and includes all of the supplies that you will need. We will  guide you and your friends and family through the steps to make your very own holiday wreath. Additional wreath decorations will be available for a nominal fee. Space is limited so please call to make reservations for either 1:00pm or 2:00pm at 207-743-8820. Refreshments will be served–

Wednesday, December 18
Holiday Centerpiece workshop 1:00 pm to 3:00pm SORRY. THIS WORKSHOP IS FULL

Bring your own waterproof, tabletop container and we’ll provide the greens and natural materials for a beautiful holiday themed tabletop arrangement. The cost is $7 per arrangement and includes 1 bow of your choice. Additional centerpiece decorations will be available for a nominal fee. Space is limited so please call to make reservations for either 1:00pm or 2:00pm at 207-743-8820. Refreshments will be served–come with your friends and family for a relaxing and creative pre-holiday gathering.


Wednesday, December 11
Member Christmas Party  4:30pm to 6:30pm