97 & 103 Main Street, South Paris, ME 04281 info@mclaughlingarden.org 207-743-8820

Garden Events and Programs

 

February

Wednesday, February 20 (3:30 tea, 4:00 lecture)
Lecture Series: Tom Estabrook, “How to Use Under Used Plants in Your Garden.”

Wednesday, February 27
Lecture Series: Mike Schwindt, “From Seeds to Trees.”


March

Wednesday, March 6
Lecture Series: Donna Anderson, “Pleasure Gardens for Kings, Queens, and Commoners:  500 Years of Historic Gardens at Hampton Court.”

Wednesday, March 13
Lecture Series: Cindy Creps, “Growing and Arranging Cut Flowers.”

Wednesday, March 20
Lecture Series: Ted Anderson, “Heard But Not (Often) Seen:  Discovering the Hidden Birds of Western Maine.”

Wednesday, March 27
Lecture Series: Aurelia Scott, “Alliums Alive! Growing Garlic, Chives, Scallions, and Decorative Alliums in Flower Beds and Containers.”

March 28-31 (Thurs.–Sun.)
Maine Flower Show in Portland


May

Friday, May 10
McLaughlin Garden Opens

May 10-12 (Fri.–Sun.)
Wildflower Celebration

Saturday, May 11
Lecture by Jean Potuchek, “Invasive Plants and the Challenge of Ethical Gardening.”

May 24-27 (Fri.–Mon. / Memorial Weekend)
McLaughlin Garden Lilac Festival


June

Thursday, June 13
Power Propagators 9:00am to 12:00pm

Thursday,  June 13- Thursday, June 27
Children’s Story Walk  “Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt”

Friday, June 14
Bus trip to The Fells and Tarbin Gardens in New Hampshire. Call 743-8820 FMI

Friday, June 21
Open House at Maine Wildlife Park in Gray 5:00pm to 8:00pm
Maine Wildlife Park

Saturday, June 22Poland Spring Preservation Heritage Days & Strawberry Festival
9:30am to 3:00pm
Poland Spring Preservation


July

Saturday, July 6

En Plein Air painting class hosted by Katrina Karlsen of Painted Flower Farm Art. Create a unique painting using acrylics on wood slices with flowers from the gardens as the subject. A fun and exciting way to connect with nature on a deeper level and create some magic! $35/per person- $5 of each admission price will be donated to the gardens. Prepay to reserve your spot via PayPal at https://www.paypal.me/paintedflower or by check in the mail. Payments also accepted at the event pending availability. Limit 15 people.
Checks may be sent to:
Katrina Karlsen
Painted Flower Farm Art
67 Cedar Ln Pittston ME 04345
 
Thursday, July 11
Power Propagators 9:00am to 12:00pm

Sunday, July 14

Fairy House building workshop- 1pm to 3pm. Build fairy houses out of a variety of natural materials collected especially to peak your creativity allowing you and your family to create the perfect fairy abode. $20 per house, or $15 and you leave your fairy house with us to decorate for the Fairy and Gnome dance party. This option also includes one ticket to the Fairy and Gnome dance party and you can take your fairy house home at the end of the party.

Friday, July 19
Garden Illuminated for Children- Fairy and Gnome Dance party. Come dressed as a fairy or gnome and receive a prize at the door. Illuminated fairy village, crafts, shadow dancing, music and snacks. $5 per child.  7pm to 9pm

Saturday, July 20
Garden Illuminated for Adults- 8pm to 10pm

Wednesday, July 24

Cancer Resource Center concert- 3:30pm


August

Saturday, August 17
Annual Benefit Concert featuring Tricky Britches- 7pm


October

October 18-19 (Fri. – Sat.)
Jack-o’-lantern Spectacular